Past Award Recipients


YiYi (Jessica) Li, Chemistry
Article: "The Unspoken Epidemic of Trauma in Trenton’s Inner-City Youths"


Steffen Seitz, Philosophy
Article: "The Wine Menu from Hell: The Schmidt Insect Sting Pain Index"


Rebecca Tang, Molecular Biology
Article: "Manjul Bhargava: The Midas of Mathematics"
News article: "Reflections from the Ebola Crisis: The fall of vaccine development"
Opinion Article: "In Defense of Angeline Jolie"


Dayton Martindale,Astrophysics
Three submissions: "Begging for Planets", "HAT in Hand", "Star Cross'd Part I,  and Star Cross'd Part II".


Lauren Wyman, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Profile of Professor Tullis Onstott entitled "Finding the Hell-Worm"

2013 -3 Winners

1st Prize - Tara Thean - Collection of journal entries entitled "Scientist at Work:  A Bottlenose Dolphin Field Journal" and an article "Citizen Calls" 

2nd Prize - Emily Trost - For two submissions, a profile of Gerta Keller entitled "Dirty Science" and a class paper "As the Smoke Still Rises" 

3rd Prize - Jeffrey Chen - For two submissions, a profile of Dr. Frances Ashcroft entitled "Love, Fran:  The Spark of a Lifelong Diabetes Researcher," and an article "A Sea Creature that can outlive you...Three times over." 

Honorable Mention - Maia ten Brink for her profile of Michael Graziano entitled "Michael Graziano:  Experimental Writer" 

Honorable Mention - Abigail Greene for her profile of Janet Monge entitled "Skeletons in our Past:  One Anthropologist's Quest to Make Human Evolution Accessible to us all."